Home - News - article
Spain's final frontier... holders can become most successful team in football's rich history
Posted Saturday, June 30, 2012 by Dailymail

Italian job: Prandelli has steered the Italians to the final

Cesare Prandelli should not be too concerned, though. His side have yet to trail in a game in this tournament and of the 12 shots on target Spain have had to deal with at Euro 2012, half came from Italy in that first game.

Italy have also had the most shots at the tournament, with 99, although Spain are second with 86. These Spanish players understand only too well what is within their grasp.

'We are aware of what we are playing for,' said Ramos. 'It is something that no team have ever achieved. It requires many years of work and sacrifice.'

Cesc Fabregas echoed the sentiment. 'We need to maintain our philosophy of play, which is the key to our success,' said the former Arsenal captain.

'But we have already made history and we will make more if we win.'

Like Germany, like England, they see Pirlo as Italy's main threat. Ramos called him 'unique', Fabregas described him as 'like Xavi in our team - two fantastic footballers'.

Under Prandelli, Italy have gone through a cultural change that right now makes them more of an attacking team than Spain. For that reason they will look, again, to Balotelli and Antonio Cassano.

On Thursday Balotelli actually took the time to commit his future to Manchester City. Asked
if he wanted to return to Italy, he said he could not entertain leaving the Etihad Stadium when the fans have been so wonderful to him.

If he can do to this marvellous Spanish team what he did to Germany in the semi-final, they will not want him to leave either.

« Previous12345Next »

    Rank Team W/D/L Pts

    Cities & Stadiums

    The Top 3 Teams of Previous Tournaments

    Year Winners Runner-up Third place
    2008SpainGermanyRussia / Turkey
    2004GreecePortugalNetherlands / Czech Republic
    2000FranceItalyNetherlands / Portugal
    1996GermanyCzech RepublicFrance / England
    1992DenmarkGermanyNetherlands / Sweden
    1988NetherlandsSoviet UnionItaly / West Germany
    1984FranceSpainDenmark / Portugal
    1980West GermanyBelgiumCzechoslovakia
    1976CzechoslovakiaWest GermanyNetherlands
    1972West GermanySoviet UnionBelgium
    1964SpainSoviet UnionHungary
    1960Soviet UnionYugoslaviaCzechoslovakia