Home - News - article
Pele: Brazil's 1970 World Cup winners better than Spain
Posted Thursday, July 05, 2012 by Dailymail

Pele: Brazil's 1970 World Cup winners better than Spain

Pele has expressed his admiration for the current Spain side but insisted that if Vicente Del Bosque's men are not as good as Brazil's World Cup winners of 1970.

Having become the first side to win three consecutive major tournaments on the back of their Euro 2012 success, La Roja are now being touted as the finest international team of all time.

However, Pele still believes that the Selecao side which triumphed in Mexico 42 years ago had more truly great players within their ranks.

"If I were playing, we would win, no doubt," the former Santos star is quoted as saying by Reuters. "The 1970 side set the standard by which others are measured.

"These comparisons will always be there, but you cannot compare them individually. But the 1970 team had better players than Spain, who have only two or three great players.

"But without doubt, this Spain team plays the football that I have enjoyed watching the most over the past two generations."

As well as Pele, who is regarded by many as the greatest player of all time, Mario Zagallo's World Cup winners also boasted fellow footballing legends such as Carlos Alberto, Clodoaldo, Jairzinho, Gerson, Tostao and Rivelino.

In a recent Goal.com feature, we asked if the current Spain crop are the greatest international team of all time, with 43.67 per cent of our readers crowning the 1970 Brazil side with the honour in a subsequent poll, pipping Del Bosque's charges to the post by a meagre 1.71%.

    Rank Team W/D/L Pts

    Cities & Stadiums

    The Top 3 Teams of Previous Tournaments

    Year Winners Runner-up Third place
    2008SpainGermanyRussia / Turkey
    2004GreecePortugalNetherlands / Czech Republic
    2000FranceItalyNetherlands / Portugal
    1996GermanyCzech RepublicFrance / England
    1992DenmarkGermanyNetherlands / Sweden
    1988NetherlandsSoviet UnionItaly / West Germany
    1984FranceSpainDenmark / Portugal
    1980West GermanyBelgiumCzechoslovakia
    1976CzechoslovakiaWest GermanyNetherlands
    1972West GermanySoviet UnionBelgium
    1964SpainSoviet UnionHungary
    1960Soviet UnionYugoslaviaCzechoslovakia