Home - News - article
Redknapp: Spain made it look easy
Posted Monday, July 02, 2012 by espnstar

Former Liverpool midfielder Jamie Redknapp has compared the current Spanish squad to the Brazilian team that won the 1970 World Cup.

Redknapp: Spain made it look easy

Despite many predicting their Italian opponents to give them a tough fight in the Euro 2012 finals, it was Spain who strolled to the podium after out-passing Cesare Prandelli's men to record a 4-0 victory.

Calling on his years of midfield experience, Redknapp raved about the intricate touches displayed by the Spaniards, pointing out how these seemingly unimportant movements were the key to the team's domination in possession.

"We can rave about Spain's passing but it is the touch to set up a pass. You can press them, get after them, try to close them down and it seems the opponent almost gets there. Then the next opponent almost gets there and then, before you know it, they are into your back four," he wrote in his column for the Daily Mail.

"Every one of the Italian players looked like they needed oxygen at the end while the Spanish players looked as if they had not played a game."

With their triumph at Euro 2012, La Roja have now made history by becoming the first team to win three back-to-back major international tournaments. Redknapp believes Spain have earned themselves a place alongside the star-studded Brazil squad that won the 1970 World Cup.

"Touch, pass, balance and a group of footballers who trust each other with the football. This is a team who deserve to be compared with the magical Brazil side of 1970." he stated.

"And to think Spain did it without record scorer David Villa, who would have played if fit. So it is not the death of the centre forward."

    Rank Team W/D/L Pts

    Cities & Stadiums

    The Top 3 Teams of Previous Tournaments

    Year Winners Runner-up Third place
    2008SpainGermanyRussia / Turkey
    2004GreecePortugalNetherlands / Czech Republic
    2000FranceItalyNetherlands / Portugal
    1996GermanyCzech RepublicFrance / England
    1992DenmarkGermanyNetherlands / Sweden
    1988NetherlandsSoviet UnionItaly / West Germany
    1984FranceSpainDenmark / Portugal
    1980West GermanyBelgiumCzechoslovakia
    1976CzechoslovakiaWest GermanyNetherlands
    1972West GermanySoviet UnionBelgium
    1964SpainSoviet UnionHungary
    1960Soviet UnionYugoslaviaCzechoslovakia