Home - News - article
Busquets: Triumph at Euro 2012 will be dedicated to Miki Roque
Posted Tuesday, June 26, 2012 by Goal.com

The Spanish defensive midfielder has vowed to help La Roja to Euro 2012 triumph and to dedicate their success to his former team-mate, who passed away on Sunday

Busquets: Triumph at Euro 2012 will be dedicated to Miki Roque

Spain midfielder Sergio Busquets hopes that La Roja will emerge victorious at Euro 2012 and dedicate the victory to former team-mate Miki Roque.

The Real Betis defender died at the age of 23 on June 24 following a year-long battle with pelvic cancer.

The former Spain Under-19 international signed for Rafa Benitez’s Liverpool in 2005 and experienced loan spells at Oldham Athletic, Xerez and Cartagena. Prior to his move to Anfield, Roque played alongside Busquets at their local Catalan club Lleida.

And, in an open letter published by the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF), Busquets has paid tribute to his one-time colleague.

 "After hearing the tragic news of the death of a team-mate, I wanted to give all my support and strength to the family and friends of Miki Roque," the Barcelona midfielder wrote.

"A great person has gone, a great sportsman, an example to everyone, but above all, a great team-mate, one with whom I shared many moments which I will never forget, has left us.

"After being left in a state of shock and realising how unfair life is, in these moments I have just one thought, to do everything possible to dedicate this triumph that we are all fighting for, to him."

Spain will face Portugal in the semi-finals of Euro 2012 on Wednesday at 20:45CET.

    Rank Team W/D/L Pts

    Cities & Stadiums

    The Top 3 Teams of Previous Tournaments

    Year Winners Runner-up Third place
    2008SpainGermanyRussia / Turkey
    2004GreecePortugalNetherlands / Czech Republic
    2000FranceItalyNetherlands / Portugal
    1996GermanyCzech RepublicFrance / England
    1992DenmarkGermanyNetherlands / Sweden
    1988NetherlandsSoviet UnionItaly / West Germany
    1984FranceSpainDenmark / Portugal
    1980West GermanyBelgiumCzechoslovakia
    1976CzechoslovakiaWest GermanyNetherlands
    1972West GermanySoviet UnionBelgium
    1964SpainSoviet UnionHungary
    1960Soviet UnionYugoslaviaCzechoslovakia