Home - News - article
FFF and Blanc blast Nasri
Posted Monday, June 25, 2012 by Sky Sport

France midfielder in hot water following journalist bust-up

FFF and Blanc blast Nasri
Samir Nasri: Clashed with a reporter following France's quarter-final defeat to Spain

The French Football Federation (FFF) and national team coach Laurent Blanc have condemned Samir Nasri's foul-mouthed rant towards a journalist following France's elimination from Euro 2012.

The Manchester City midfielder, who has taken issue with the press in the past, clashed with a reporter after Les Bleus were beaten 2-0 by reigning European champions Spain on Saturday.

FFF president Noel le Graet admits the fiery 24-year-old must learn to keep his emotions in check and assert more self-control when faced with similar situations in the future.

He told RMC: "I will ask the journalist to meet with me, but this is intolerable.

"I understand that there are negative reactions. Samir is on the edge, he wants to do well, but he cannot control his impulses."

Nasri has endured a tense relationship with the French media in recent times and aimed his goal celebration in their direction after netting against England in Les Bleus' opening game of Euro 2012.


Blanc appreciates that there is an underlying issue which needs to be addressed, but admits that Nasri's actions cannot be condoned.

"It's a lack of respect toward the journalist," he told Telefoot.

"I told (Nasri) what I thought of it and what I would have done in his place. It's very unfortunate.

"There is a problem between Nasri and the press. That's the truth.

"The comments are very violent and it's been proven that they were said."

    Rank Team W/D/L Pts

    Cities & Stadiums

    The Top 3 Teams of Previous Tournaments

    Year Winners Runner-up Third place
    2008SpainGermanyRussia / Turkey
    2004GreecePortugalNetherlands / Czech Republic
    2000FranceItalyNetherlands / Portugal
    1996GermanyCzech RepublicFrance / England
    1992DenmarkGermanyNetherlands / Sweden
    1988NetherlandsSoviet UnionItaly / West Germany
    1984FranceSpainDenmark / Portugal
    1980West GermanyBelgiumCzechoslovakia
    1976CzechoslovakiaWest GermanyNetherlands
    1972West GermanySoviet UnionBelgium
    1964SpainSoviet UnionHungary
    1960Soviet UnionYugoslaviaCzechoslovakia