Home - News - article
Ancelotti: Pirlo & Motta are perfect for Italy
Posted Saturday, June 09, 2012 by Goal.com

Ancelotti: Pirlo & Motta are perfect for Italy

Carlo Ancelotti believes that Italy coach Cesare Prandelli is blessed to have both Andrea Pirlo and Thiago Motta as his midfield options.

The former Chelsea manager worked with Pirlo during their time at AC Milan, and is currently coaching the Brazil-born midfielder at Paris Saint-Germain.

The 52-year-old believes that the two players compliment one another well, and could prove a fruitful partnership for their country during the course of Euro 2012.

"If Thiago Motta was at Milan when I was there, then I would have always used him alongside Andrea Pirlo," he told Corriere Dello Sport.

"Cesare Prandelli's decision is perfect. Thiago can play anywhere in midfield, including to the left of a strong central player like Pirlo.

"Motta has brought intelligence, personality, experience and a desire to win with him to PSG. He's a great professional and he's formidable at breaking into space from midfield."

Italy begin their Euro 2012 campaign with a mouth-watering fixture against reigning champions Spain, and Ancelotti feels that Prandelli's men have what it takes to go all the way in Poland and Ukraine.

"We won't begin the game against Spain as a beaten side," he said. "I know how it will end: they'll keep the ball, and we'll hit them on the break.

"Italy can get to the final, even if everything will have to go right. Spain became Spain four years ago by beating Italy on penalties in the last eight. It doesn't take a lot to change history."

Italy will also have to contend with Croatia and Republic of Ireland in Group C.

    Rank Team W/D/L Pts

    Cities & Stadiums

    The Top 3 Teams of Previous Tournaments

    Year Winners Runner-up Third place
    2008SpainGermanyRussia / Turkey
    2004GreecePortugalNetherlands / Czech Republic
    2000FranceItalyNetherlands / Portugal
    1996GermanyCzech RepublicFrance / England
    1992DenmarkGermanyNetherlands / Sweden
    1988NetherlandsSoviet UnionItaly / West Germany
    1984FranceSpainDenmark / Portugal
    1980West GermanyBelgiumCzechoslovakia
    1976CzechoslovakiaWest GermanyNetherlands
    1972West GermanySoviet UnionBelgium
    1964SpainSoviet UnionHungary
    1960Soviet UnionYugoslaviaCzechoslovakia