Home - News - article
Silva: Euro 2012 final is win or bust
Posted Saturday, June 30, 2012 by Goal.com

The Manchester City star has stressed that it is all or nothing ahead of Spain's clash wtih Italy on Sunday but is confident that his side have what it takes to win

Silva: Euro 2012 final is win or bust

Spain midfielder David Silva believes that Sunday's Euro 2012 final clash with Italy will be nothing like the sides' Group C meeting earlier in the tournament.

The finalists drew 1-1 on June 10 before going on to qualify ahead of the Repubilc of Ireland and Croatia, but the Manchester City man insists there is a lot more pressure ahead of their next showdown in Kiev.

"The first match with Italy here was tricky, but this one is not quite the same, mainly because it’s a case of win or bust," Silva was quoted as saying by fifa.com.

"Ahead of the group-phase match, both teams knew that a defeat wouldn’t eliminate us. Of course, now the situation is very different, just as the game will be."

The 26-year-old also revealed that La Roja are brimming with confidence ahead of the game, but acknowledged that they can still improve in certain areas.

"There’s no doubt that Italy are extremely tough opponents, but when you reach a final, that’s to be expected," he added.

"We’ve played Portugal and France, two top-class teams, and we managed to overcome them both. The objective has obviously not changed, and our confidence is as high as it’s ever been.

"We’ve been working flat out to reach the final. To have achieved that goal means that we’ve clearly been playing at a high level, but if we want to be favourably compared with past teams, we need to win; that much is obvious. If we do it, it’ll be historic, but we still have to improve on a few things."

Sunday's showpiece in Kiev kicks off at 20:45CET.

    Rank Team W/D/L Pts

    Cities & Stadiums

    The Top 3 Teams of Previous Tournaments

    Year Winners Runner-up Third place
    2008SpainGermanyRussia / Turkey
    2004GreecePortugalNetherlands / Czech Republic
    2000FranceItalyNetherlands / Portugal
    1996GermanyCzech RepublicFrance / England
    1992DenmarkGermanyNetherlands / Sweden
    1988NetherlandsSoviet UnionItaly / West Germany
    1984FranceSpainDenmark / Portugal
    1980West GermanyBelgiumCzechoslovakia
    1976CzechoslovakiaWest GermanyNetherlands
    1972West GermanySoviet UnionBelgium
    1964SpainSoviet UnionHungary
    1960Soviet UnionYugoslaviaCzechoslovakia