Home - News - article
See us make history
Posted Friday, June 29, 2012 by thesun.co.uk

See us make history
THREE GLEE? ... Alonso and Iniesta are chasing record third major tournament joy in succession

ANDRES INIESTA insists Spain are ready to create history in Sunday’s final.

If Vicente del Bosque’s team lift the European Championship trophy, they will become the first team in history to win three major tournaments on the spin.

Superstar Iniesta, 28, delivered a monumental display against Portugal and netted his penalty in the shootout win.

He said: “We’re so happy to be in the final once again. We are prepared to make history.

“We just need one final little push.”

Iniesta hailed defender Sergio Ramos whose ice-cool penalty mirrored that of Italy maestro Andrea Pirlo’s against England, as he dinked it straight down the middle.

He said: “He was very confident and full of certainty. It was a phenomenal feeling for us when it went in.”

Midfielder Cesc Fabregas revealed he spoke to his mother Nuria in an emotional phone call immediately after scoring the spot-kick that took the world champions through.

The Barcelona star demanded to take the last kick, telling Spanish assistant boss Jose Antonio Grande he wanted ‘the penalty that would give Spain victory’.

Fabregas said: “I spoke to my mother just after the match. These are special moments and the truth is, I felt very emotional.”

Fab, 25, has scored two goals in open play in the tournament but was again a sub in the semi.

He added: “I have already played for the national team for seven years now.

“I have had my ups and downs — but I really must be thankful.”

    Rank Team W/D/L Pts

    Cities & Stadiums

    The Top 3 Teams of Previous Tournaments

    Year Winners Runner-up Third place
    2008SpainGermanyRussia / Turkey
    2004GreecePortugalNetherlands / Czech Republic
    2000FranceItalyNetherlands / Portugal
    1996GermanyCzech RepublicFrance / England
    1992DenmarkGermanyNetherlands / Sweden
    1988NetherlandsSoviet UnionItaly / West Germany
    1984FranceSpainDenmark / Portugal
    1980West GermanyBelgiumCzechoslovakia
    1976CzechoslovakiaWest GermanyNetherlands
    1972West GermanySoviet UnionBelgium
    1964SpainSoviet UnionHungary
    1960Soviet UnionYugoslaviaCzechoslovakia