Home - News - article
We have no plan to stop Cristiano Ronaldo but we do have Casillas, says Negredo
Posted Wednesday, June 27, 2012 by Goal.com

We have no plan to stop Cristiano Ronaldo but we do have Casillas, says Negredo

Alvaro Negredo has revealed that Spain have no set plan for nullifying Cristiano Ronaldo and are confident that Iker Casillas will be up to the task of keeping out whatever the Portugal forward fires his way in Wednesday's Euro 2012 semi-final showdown.

La Roja are very familiar with the Seleccao's star player, given he plies his trade in La Liga with Real Madrid. However, Negredo has explained that Vicente del Bosque has not come up with any special tactic for negating the threat posed by the 27-year-old.

"In football, everyone knows Cristiano Ronaldo and that he is a player overflowing with quality," the Sevilla striker told reporters at a press conference on Tuesday.

"We have no plan to stop him, but we know that he is a good free-kick taker and that requires you not to give away any silly fouls.

"But we have the best goalkeeper in the world, who knows him well and knows how to stop him."

Negredo is more concerned with how Spain will go about breaking down one of the best defensive partnerships at Euro 2012.

"Pepe and Bruno Alves are great centre-backs," the forward conceded. "Pepe is aggressive and strong and fast. I know him as he plays in Spain. He's one of the best centre-backs in the world.

"Bruno Alves is very strong and powerful in the air, and the two make a great defensive duo."

Spain's meeting with Portugal in Donetsk will kick off at 20:45CET.

    Rank Team W/D/L Pts

    Cities & Stadiums

    The Top 3 Teams of Previous Tournaments

    Year Winners Runner-up Third place
    2008SpainGermanyRussia / Turkey
    2004GreecePortugalNetherlands / Czech Republic
    2000FranceItalyNetherlands / Portugal
    1996GermanyCzech RepublicFrance / England
    1992DenmarkGermanyNetherlands / Sweden
    1988NetherlandsSoviet UnionItaly / West Germany
    1984FranceSpainDenmark / Portugal
    1980West GermanyBelgiumCzechoslovakia
    1976CzechoslovakiaWest GermanyNetherlands
    1972West GermanySoviet UnionBelgium
    1964SpainSoviet UnionHungary
    1960Soviet UnionYugoslaviaCzechoslovakia